Uncategorized

What I eat on an average day

I was just asked what I eat in an average day to get enough nutrients and calories to fuel a fairly active lifestyle. Let me start with what I usually DO in a day. I run a neurocognition lab. This means that I manage projects, work on protocols and run experiments, collect data, and a million more things. On the side, I work on a few publications to add to my CV, I run and lift, I take care of a precious st bernard–in a nutshell, plenty happens.

It’s fair to say that I have never eaten on a schedule. I am NOT a morning person and have never been able to eat breakfast, not even as a kid (my idea of breakfast refers to 11 am at the earliest). So I start eating late, but don’t stop for the rest of the day. I eat pretty much at all times, very frequently.

Here is what I eat in a day (instead of writing “smoothies”, I will list the ingredients here)–these are the constant ingredients, but sometimes I add to them:

3-4 bananas, 4-5 cups of berries, at least 1 large stem of broccoli, 2 lemons, lots of kale, a bunch of spinach, 3-4-5 tomatoes, 1.5-2 cucumbers, radishes, probably about 2-3 cups of beans, plenty of carrots, 1 mango, usually 1 avocado, 4 or so cups of almond milk, a bunch of nuts/seeds, flaxseed, humus, sometimes-totrilla chips, usually some form of breads of crackers, and sometimes I cook something if I have the time-quinoa, lentils, or a soup. I’m sure I am forgetting something. I am never hungry!

Image

Standard

8 thoughts on “What I eat on an average day

  1. Andrea says:

    I’ve never seen the vegan food pyramid! Cool! You run a neurocognition lab?? Double cool! Thanks for posting!

    • πŸ˜€ Andrea, thanks so much for the kind words! I do love what I do, I consider myself pretty darn lucky. I hope you are enjoying this blog! Always happy to hear more about what people would like to read about, so keep the feedback coming πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for sharing about your life and who you are. I’m guessing that by running neurocognition lab, you’re a logical, sharp, detail-oriented and methodical person! A fellow nutrition geek too I believe? πŸ˜‰ If you’re, then even more SUPER COOL! Besides yoga practice, I like to run sometimes and just start lifting. Overall, I’m more interested in a good balance of healthy fitness lifestyle.

    • Thank you so much, Josie :). I think logic and commons sense are important, although I might disappoint you re: being methodical–I am usually quite scattered. I think this might be why I have never stuck to a structured schedule of eating (I eat at all hours), however I do think that being meticulous about staying informed, picky about sources of information, and researching the complexities of nutrition, are critical. I think balancing a healthy lifestyle of nutrition and fitness is great to contribute to overall well-being. I am sure you reap the benefits constantly!

      • Haha! “Being meticulous about staying informed, picky about sources of info, and researching the complexities of nutrition are critical.” –> Ditto! I can’t say it any better! I think that’s what I strive to be as a personβ€”by being passionate about and while immersing myself in topics of my interests. πŸ™‚ I try my best to reap those “benefits” as you said. But it’s almost always trial-and-error processes which can take years. So- now I’m adding “patience” to the list above.

Leave a Reply

