Amino acids, copper, manganese, potassium, sixpence recipes, Uncategorized, vitamin C

The potassium-copper-manganese-Thiamine-Folate-protein-fiber-iron-vitamin C spread with olives.

Tonight I created a magnificent, lemony, potassium-copper-manganese-Thiamine-Folate-protein-fiber-iron-vitamin C spread with olives.

I have seen this spread commercially distributed and massively altered with preservatives, an excess of water and sodium, and  citric acid, and made wildly more expensive for the tiny, modified, processed and no longer wondrous yet much less nutritionally diverse product you get.

In other words, I made some crazy good hummus.

I wanted to make hummus that combines multiple flavors I love enjoying at once, but have not found in any store, by any brand. I wanted to create kalamata olive hummus. But I also wanted a black bean hummus. However, I was also craving a lemony, peppery hummus. There was no way I could get it all without spending perhaps over 15 dollars on more on hummus spreads alone.

But I love the sixpence idea, and I love the idea of being a vegan glutton. And a glutton gets it all.

1 large can of chickpeas

1 1/2 lemons

2 tbsp of garlic

2 cups of black beans

1 cup of kalamata olives

1 cup of capers

2 roasted green peppers

2 tbsp of freshly ground black pepper

1 tbsp of olive oil

Blend blend blend.

Just like I wanted it: a magnificent, lemony, potassium-copper-manganese-Thiamine-Folate-protein-fiber-iron-vitamin C spread with olives.

Cost: 3.50. Volume: about 3 of those in-store containers of hummus, sold at 3:50+ each.

Heaven.

Image

Standard

One thought on “The potassium-copper-manganese-Thiamine-Folate-protein-fiber-iron-vitamin C spread with olives.

  1. Greetings from Florida! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break. I love the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a
    look when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .

    . Anyhow, wonderful blog!

Leave a Reply

